Italtile Leadership

Underpinning the Group’s mission to be a sustainable, ascendant organisation are our key disciplines which centre on best practice benchmarks and controls across the business and our belief in fairness, integrity and transparency in all business dealings.

Giovanni Ravazzotti (77)
Non-executive Chairman

Founder, in 1969, of the Italtile Group and Chairman of Ceramic Industries (Pty) Limited.

Non-executive Deputy Chairman
Appointed to the Board in 2018

Luciana has 25 years of experience with the Group, having worked in various roles including HR, IT, Accounting, Sales and Marketing in the South African business. In addition, she has experience in the Group’s offshore operations, where she was involved in the research and establishment of Ceramic Industries’ Centaurus factory and expanding the Italtile Retail business across the Eastern States of Australia. Luciana has a deep understanding of the Group’s current growth strategy and a proven track record of managing complex projects. Outside of her business leadership role, Luciana is actively involved in land conservation in both South Africa and Australia. She resides in Sydney, Australia and is currently a non-executive Director on the Boards of Centaurus Pty Ltd, Australia (appointed in 2000) and Ceramic Industries Proprietary Limited, South Africa (appointed 2006).

Jan Potgieter (51)
BCompt (Hons), CA(SA) Advanced Management Programme (INSEAD)
Chief Executive Officer
Appointed to the Board in August 2014.

Jan is a Chartered Accountant (SA) and has extensive senior level experience in the retail and supply chain sectors, having most recently served as Chief Executive Officer and formerly Financial Director of Massdiscounters (a division of Massmart). He also served as a business manager at Clover SA and spent eight years at SABMiller in senior financial roles. Jan currently serves as a non-executive director on the board of Fortress REIT Limited.

Susan du Toit (47)
CA(SA), MCom (Financial Management)
Lead independent non-executive director
Appointed to the Board in 2009.

Susan is a Chartered Accountant (SA) and has held a number of positions within EY culminating in the position as lead audit partner on a number of entities listed on the JSE. Susan also held the position of team leader for a group of audit partners at EY. Susan currently works with a number of organisations in the non-profit sector.

Brandon Wood (38)
BAcc, CA(SA)
Chief Financial Officer
Appointed to the Board in 2013.

Brandon is a Chartered Accountant (SA) and prior to joining the Group, was an audit manager at EY. He joined Italtile in 2010 as Group Financial Manager and was appointed as Chief Financial Officer in 2013 and served in this position for five years. From 2018, Brandon has served as Executive Director: Commercial and Supply Chain and Executive Director: Retail prior to being appointed as CFO with effect from 3 August 2020.

Brand Pretorius (72)
MCom Business Economics
Independent non-executive director
Appointed to the Board in June 2011.

Brand Pretorius is a well-known and respected businessman in South Africa, particularly in the motor industry where he held the position of Managing Director for Toyota SA for eight years and that of Chief Executive Officer of McCarthy Limited from 1999 to his retirement on 1 March 2011. Brand currently serves as a non-executive director on the boards of InvoTech and Agrinet, and as non-executive Chairman of Metair Investments.

Nkateko Khoza (42)
Independent non-executive director
Appointed to the Board in 2018.

Nkateko is the Chief Executive Officer of Dzana Investments, a venture founded by her father, Dr Reuel Khoza. Dzana Investments is a holding company with interests in mining, property, energy, education, health and the ICT sector. She was formerly associate director at Deloitte Consulting where she was responsible for business development and client service.

Isaac Malevu (46)
Independent non-executive director
Appointed to the Board in 2020.

Isaac is a Chartered Accountant (SA) and is currently the Chief Financial Officer for Client Coverage in the Corporate Investment Banking division within the Standard Bank Group Limited. Prior to that he was audit partner at EY. Isaac has been appointed as the CFO of the Industrial Development Corporation with effect from 1 October 2020. Isaac has in excess of 20 years of international experience and thought leadership in a range of specialist areas including finance, treasury, corporate strategy, risk management and corporate governance. His appointment reflects the Group´s continuing commitment to enhancing the diversity of the Board and the expertise available to the business.

Audit and Risk Committee

I N Malevu (Chairman), S M du Toit, N P Khoza, S G Pretorius, J N Potgieter*, L R Langenhoven*, B G Wood*

Nominations Committee

G A M Ravazzotti (Chairman), S M du Toit, S G Pretorius, L R Langenhoven*

*by invitation

Remuneration Committee

S M du Toit (Chairman), G A M Ravazzotti,
S G Pretorius, L R Langenhoven*, J N Potgieter*,

Social and Ethics Committee

N P Khoza (Chairman), J N Potgieter, S G Pretorius, B G Wood*

*by invitation

Executive management Structure

Jan Potgieter 
Chief Executive Officer

Brandon Wood
Chief Financial Officer

Divisional Management


Tees Govender

Italtile retail

Sergio Galli
Paul Couzis

CTM South Africa

Paul Isaacs

CTM east Africa

Dewan Du Plooy


Karabo Theledi


Thys Hustwayte


Julian Mochitele



Michael Simoes


Diwan Fouche
Preston Wood

Information Technology

James Mason


Tim Meara

Human Resources

Selene Sacerdote

Ceramic Industries

Lance Foxcroft (CEO)
Tshepo Molefakgotla (COO)

Ezee Tile

Mike du Plessis